The Ghost of Us
(June 11 2024, Wednesday Books)

One Last Stop meets Cemetery Boys in this swoony YA romance!

Eighteen-year-old ghost hunter Cara is determined to escape life as a high school outcast by finding proof of the supernatural. Yet when she stumbles upon the spirit of Aiden, a popular upperclassman who died the previous year, she learns that ghosts have goals of their own. In the wake of his death, Aiden’s little sister, Meredith, has become a depressed recluse, and Aiden can’t pass on into the afterlife until he knows she’ll be okay. Believing that nothing pulls someone out of a slump like romance, he makes Cara a deal: seduce Meredith out of her shell and take her to prom, and Aiden will give Cara all the evidence she needs for fame. If not, well—no dates, no ghost.

Wooing the standoffish Meredith isn’t going to be easy, however. With Aiden’s coaching, Cara slowly manages to win Meredith over—but finds herself accidentally falling for her in the process. Worse yet: as Meredith gets happier and Aiden’s mission nears completion, his ghost begins to fade. Can Cara continue to date Meredith under false pretenses, especially if it means Aiden will vanish forever? Or should she tell Meredith the truth, and risk both of them hating her? And either way, will she lose her only shot at proving ghosts are real?

ISBN: 9781250869760



Darkhearts
(June 6, 2023, Wednesday Books)

BOOKLIST STARRED REVIEW

"Sparkles with laugh-out-loud dialogue... A funny romp with a lot of heart." - Kirkus

"Humorous dialogue and steamy romance, vibrant supporting characters, sex-positive messaging, and complex ruminations on sexuality propel this heartfelt read" - Publishers Weekly

"Pitch-perfect pop star romance... Sutter’s swoony YA debut... is romance at its absolute best." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"I kept laughing out loud... I stayed up until almost 2 AM reading this book and had absolutely no regrets." - GeekMom

Perfect for fans of Red, White, & Royal Blue and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Darkhearts is a hilarious, heartfelt novel about fame, romance, and what happens when the two collide.

When David quit his band, he missed his shot at fame. For the past two years, he’s been trapped in an ordinary Seattle high school life, working summers for his dad’s construction business while his former best friends Chance and Eli became the hottest teen pop act in America.

Then Eli dies. Suddenly David and Chance are thrown back into contact, forcing David to rediscover all the little things that once made the two of them so close, even as he continues to despise the singer’s posturing and attention-hogging. As old wounds break open, an unexpected kiss leads the boys to trade frenemy status for a confusing, tentative romance―one Chance is desperate to keep out of the spotlight. Though hurt by Chance’s refusal to acknowledge him publicly, David decides their new relationship presents a perfect opportunity for him to rejoin the band and claim the celebrity he's been denied. But Chance is all too familiar with people trying to use him.

As the mixture of business and pleasure becomes a powder keg, David will have to choose: Is this his second chance at glory? Or his second chance at Chance?

"A messy, joyful story about what happens when rockstars meet reality, and about finding the part of yourself that makes you whole. These boys and their love story filled up my heart―I couldn't stop reading, and I didn't want to." - Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of Illuminae

"Laugh-out-loud and tearful at the same time, Sutter's Darkhearts combines real characters, smart prose, and an emotional journey into one fantastically relatable read." - Charlie N. Holmberg, bestselling author of the Paper Magician series and You're My I.T.

"Darkhearts is a delightful, boy-centric YA that doesn't shy away from Romance with a capital R. Chance is a soulful, ethereal mystery to the reader, and David a down-to-earth, weighty mystery to himself, but wherever your tastes lie, you'll find it in Darkhearts. Sutter has created a world that will feel starkly familiar to teens, layered with exploration and an unflinchingly real glimpse into the sometimes elusive world of the teen boy. Top everything off with an insta-fave quirky best friend, and a setting steeped with musicians' culture―Sutter is an author to watch." - Aprilynne Pike, New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series

"Sutter's breezy, warm-hearted prose feels almost like a trick: blink and you'll catch yourself surprised by the more emotional moments in the book. A fantastic, slow-burn romance both sweet and poignant, hilarious and brilliant." - Cassandra Khaw, bestselling author of Nothing but Blackened Teeth

"Characters so well-drawn you feel like you know them—and so compelling you wish that you did. Darkhearts is rad as hell." - Dan Wells, bestselling author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

"An achingly real tale of first queer romance and a brutal cut at the lies we tell ourselves, all in one hilarious package. Hard emotional truths lead to a satisfying, healing payoff in this love story filled with music, woodworking, missed opportunities, and nuanced queer representation. Seeing someone push through their BS to find love and real emotional growth? We love to see it." - M. K. England, author of The One True Me and You

ISBN: 9781250869746



The Redemption Engine
(April 2014, Paizo Publishing/Tor Books)

Get out of Hell free! When murdered sinners fail to show up in Hell, it's up to Salim Ghadafar, an atheist warrior forced to solve problems for the goddess of death, to track down the missing souls. In order to do so, Salim will need to descend into the anarchic city of Kaer Maga, following a trail that ranges from Hell’s iron cities to the gates of Heaven itself. Along the way, he’ll be aided by a host of otherworldly creatures, a streetwise teenager, and two warriors of the mysterious Iridian Fold. But when the missing souls are the scum of the earth, and the victims devils themselves, can anyone really be trusted?

Click here to read an illustrated sample chapter on Tor.com.

Winner of the 2015 Scribe Award for Best Original Speculative Novel

ISBN: 978-1-60125-618-8



Death's Heretic
(November 2011, Paizo Publishing/Tor Books)

Nobody cheats death! A warrior haunted by his past, Salim Ghadafar serves as a problem-solver for a church he hates, bound by the goddess of death to hunt down those who would rob her of her due. Such is the case in the desert nation of Thuvia, where a powerful merchant on the verge of achieving eternal youth via a magical elixir is mysteriously murdered, his soul kidnapped somewhere along its path to the afterlife. The only clue is a magical ransom note, offering to trade the merchant’s successful resurrection for his dose of the fabled potion. But who would have the power to steal a soul from the boneyard of Death herself? Enter Salim, whose keen mind and contacts throughout the multiverse should make solving this mystery a cinch. There's only one problem: The investigation is being financed by Neila Anvanory, the dead merchant's stubborn and aristocratic daughter. And she wants to go with him.

Along with his uninvited passenger, Salim must unravel a web of intrigue that will lead them far from the blistering sands of Thuvia on a grand tour of the Outer Planes, where devils and angels rub shoulders with fey lords and mechanical men, and nothing is as it seems...

Click here to download a sample chapter.

Finalist for the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel

2013 Origins Award Nominee: Best Game-Related Publication

Ranked #3 on Barnes & Noble's list of the Best Fantasy of 2011

ISBN: 978-1-60125-369-9